Your Words, They Offend Me

Excellent writing advice, I believe from Kristen Iverson, is that “you must write as if your parents are dead.” Not taking that morbid comment literally, she means that when a good or even great writer puts down a thought, there is no discernment with the external world. There are only two existences when writing about one’s persona- the Self and emotions emitting from the past, present, or future. Sure, it’s always nice to appeal to others’ senses, but for the sake that most people reading also come from America, I find it okay to make this blog devoid of any indiscretions.

I Yahoo searched for the correct author, and came up with this website. Apparently a comic book writer’s professor found the same information as important as me.
http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=31959

Jason Aaron has a good summary “… write for yourself.”

It’s along the same lines of moving out. Your parents know you love them, but there comes a time when you must move out for yourself. That or you’re Latin American and don’t have the instinct to move away from mom and dad! (You know Spanish people often live with their mother and father even after they get married? I kind of love the idea, and then I remember how irritating that life can be.)

Here’s the meat of this presentation  I know I swear. Sorry about that. To be honest, there shouldn’t be any word with any form of power. I believe in “repossessing” words, as beloved Chinese superstar Wang Lee Hom describes it.

Read the transcript below about how Wang Lee Hom describes taking back the word “chink.” This is the same way I think about any racial slur, and kind of swear word. Perhaps that’s a musician way of thinking, like how rappers try to make the “n-word” their own again. I think it’s working slowly, but then again, I’m not African American, and I’m not Asian, and I think that my inhibition to talk about racial slurs is yet again another loop hole. My argument, in summary, is there shouldn’t be any word unused. Not to bring up J. K. Rowling (unfortunately I have to- she’s becoming an easily accessible literary example… and one of her competitors is Stephanie Meyer) but we’re not being simple when we ignore euphemisms, such as the use of “He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named” as a placeholder for Voldemort. We’re breaking through, -nerd voice- just like Harry Potter.
http://articles.cnn.com/2006-06-16/world/talkasia.wang.script_1_popular-music-classical-music-hip-hop?_s=PM:WORLD

To further my argument, and bear with me because this might sound sacrilegious, but swearing doesn’t make me feel sinful.

Ephesians 4:29- “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” So when I say [Dude, you’re fucking awesome.] it’s still wholesome and I generally use swear words to benefit others, unless I’m talking about food. Which only means we have other problems, as I’m just being a glutton as well.
Peter 3:10- “For, whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech.” James 3:9-12- “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.”
Again, these interpretations are maybe why the Bible is so undeniably controversial. If I’m not deceiving anyone or doing something wholly evil, and if I’m generally not talking bad about others, except for rude as fuck strangers, then what exactly is a “curse word?” Am I casting spells on people or some shit? When and where do they end and who gets to choose what you can or can’t say? What about the thousands of other languages? Chinese people can teach me bad words, so does it only count if I know I’m saying a swear word? I know that many of you are either one side or the other; completely without knowledge of the Bible or a true believer.

As for me, I’m on the fence. I suppose that would file me in the “skeptic” tab. I love and respect religion, and I think the Bible is so incredibly packed with words of wisdom. However I still don’t really believe and can’t force myself to be that way. When I go to church I go out of habit or possibly duty. I know the Bible well, but that doesn’t mean it’s anything more than a good read at times.

That being said, so many people in China are either agnostic or atheist. I wonder how entire countries could go without God and have no chance at salvation, completely unaware of salvation or a Promised Land for that matter. It just doesn’t really seem fair, you know? Do you think ignorance is fair? It just doesn’t seem right to me. Maybe it’s not fair, and this is what your God intended. And if paradise is only achieved through networking, I don’t want anything to do with your salvation.

And that’s my writing whilst completely disconnected from the outer world. I hope it was interesting at least. Next time I’ll write about more fun China facts.

About Jonny Blevins

Be proud of who you are, wherever you are. I'm sure other dimensions and worlds exist. Trying to be photogenic is gross. Weak stomachs are weird. I talk about my hypothetical Chow Chow, Fa Mulan, regularly. Handan, China is like West Virginia with more Chinese people. Pittsburgh is alright. I'm there now.
This entry was posted in China and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

